Home Music Mixtape: California Dreamin’ Old vs. New

Mixtape: California Dreamin’ Old vs. New

by The Concordian January 31, 2012
Mixtape: California Dreamin’ Old vs. New
There’s no denying that winter is long and dreary. I’ll bet even enthusiastic Canadians get tired of the cold by February. Fantasizing about chilled margaritas on a steamy beach may distract you from your numb face, but it won’t make spring arrive any sooner. Music can make people feel warm and happy inside, so here’s a mixtape that will push those winter blues aside. These tracks are from The Golden State: California. Side A songs are pre-1990, with memories of legal hallucinogens and surf-boy jams. Side B accentuates modern Cali sounds, like Best Coast and Wavves. And a California mixtape isn’t complete without a little Snoop D-O-double-G. If this mix doesn’t satisfy your sun-deprived soul, check out Craig Morrison’s concert at the Oscar Peterson Hall on Feb. 10 and 11 for a vast selection of West Coast rhythms.

SIDE A: Lysergic acid diethylamide

1. “California Dreamin’” – The Mamas and The Papas – If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears
2. “Omaha” – Moby Grape – Moby Grape
3. “Wasn’t Born to Follow” – The Byrds – The Notorious Byrd Brothers
4. “Touch of Grey” – Grateful Dead – In the Dark
5. “Don’t Worry Baby” – The Beach Boys – Shut Down: Volume 2
6. “Bad Moon Rising” – Creedence Clearwater Revival – Green River
7. “Can’t Seem To Make You Mine” – The Seeds – The Seeds
8. “Wooden Ships”- Jefferson Airplane – Volunteers
9. “Hello, I Love You” – The Doors – Waiting for the Sun
10. “Black Magic Woman” – Santana – Abraxas

SIDE B: Tetrahydrocannabinol

11. “Boyfriend” – Best Coast – Crazy for You
12. “Scar Tissue” – Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication
13. “King of the Beach” – Wavves – King of the Beach
14. “Gin And Juice” – Snoop Dogg – Doggystyle
15. “Just Because” – Jane’s Addiction – Strays
16. “Nadine” – Fool’s Gold – Fool’s Gold
17. “Lust For Life” – Girls – Album
18. “Doll Parts” – Hole – Live Through This
19. “Dinner” – Blood Orange – Single
20. “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over” – Jeff Buckley – Grace

Related Articles

Leave a Comment