Home Music Bloc Party – Hymns

Bloc Party – Hymns

by Jessica Romera February 9, 2016
Bloc Party – Hymns

Bloc Party – Hymns (BMG, 2016)

Those who grew up loving and listening to Bloc Party since their 2005 debut Silent Alarm will more than likely be divided in their sentiments towards their latest release Hymns. True to its name, the album offers 11 tracks drawing on frontman Kele Okereke’ newfound deep spirituality, like on the sweetly bright and peppy “The Love Within” and the more sombre “Only He Can Heal Me.” The aggressive and infectious riffs from past records are replaced with a softer sonic palette over a series of sermon-like tracks. Though Bloc Party has taken a respectable and bold risk with their new direction, the album itself feels disjointed and falls flat.

Trial Track: “Living Lux”


Related Articles

Leave a Comment